Swipe Files: Remembering Ryan Davis

RIP Ryan Davis

I think whether they realized it or not, most people who write about video games kind of wanted to be Ryan Davis.

I know I did. Ryan was that rare voice that was able to be brutally critical and frank and funny, and still be well-liked by basically everybody. How could anybody walk the line that well?

I was a fan for years before I started writing about games, and I guess I thought that eventually I’d understand the secret magic he had, I’d find out that it was really two people when the lady was being sawed in half, so maybe the trick wasn’t so impressive all along.

This, as it turned out, was not the case.

That didn’t stop me from using Ryan as a metric of success, of course. When I saw that he had retweeted something I’d said, it was some of the best validation I ever got. When he had me on the Giant Bombcast that first time, it was the first time I believed I was truly, genuinely, 100 percent successful in my career.

Here’s the full article from Justin McElroy over at Polygon. 

Leave a Reply

